Saturday 20th January 2024 – Northern Premier League

Ilkeston Town 4-1 Basford United

A Jamie Walker hat-trick helped Ilkeston to a third consecutive win as local rivals Basford United were taken apart. The 1360 crowd saw Ilkeston score early and then dominate the rest of the game. 

In the first minute Connor Dixon cut through the Basford defence and was only denied by a brilliant Kieran Preston save tipping his shot round the post. A couple of minutes later Ilkeston scored through Walker after Basford failed to clear. Ilkeston continued on top and a Luke Cox header was too high. Basford’s best chance was a close range header by Remaye Campbell which Matt Yates did well to save. Ilkeston’s main threat was L’Varn Brandy down the left and after a succession of corners one finally paid off with Walker scoring his second on 32 minutes. The best goal of the game was scored by Declan Eratt-Thompson who was found by Lindon Meikle. Eratt-Thompson still had plenty to do but he drove forward and created some space before lashing his low drive past Preston from the edge of the area. A 3-0 half time lead was no less than Ilkeston deserved.

There was a bizarre moment at the start of the second half when Tom Cursons appeared to score Ilkeston’s fourth. The celebrations took place and the goal was announced then a good 30 seconds after the referee appeared to have a change of mind and the goal was disallowed for offside. Another Cursons effort was deflected wide by Kieran Fenton. Yates was then in action at the other end saving from James Revarnelle. A superb touch of skill from Eratt-Thompson put Brandy through on goal but Preston denied him. Walker completed his hat-trick ten minutes from time confidently firing past Preston after being found by Alex Marshall. On 87 minutes Basford pulled one back following Matthew Thornhill’s free kick when Nathan Tyson’s follow up just crossed the line before being cleared. In added time Basford’s misery was complete when Owen Betts was dismissed for a second bookable offence.

Written by – John Attewell